
 

September 6, 2010 

 

Dear Illinois School Bus Operator: 

 

School is once again in session throughout Illinois and it is time to focus on school 

bus safety.  It is important that motorists help protect our children by being 

especially careful while driving near schools.  Students should be reminded to avoid 

the danger zones around a school bus and to be particularly careful when crossing 

in front of a school bus.  Students should be instructed to always make sure that the 

school bus driver can see them when walking near a school bus.  Most importantly, 

school bus drivers must remember that school bus safety begins with them.  They 

must always be focused and alert.  A momentary lapse in concentration could result 

in tragedy. 

 

The following new law from the 96
th

 General Assembly impacts school bus 

transportation: 

 

Public Act 96-1066, effective July 16, 2010, requires all school buses registered in 

Illinois to be equipped with an operating cellular radio telecommunication device 

(cell phone) or a two-way radio while the school bus driver is in possession of the 

school bus.  This new law basically eliminated the “push-to-talk” requirement for 

cell phones that has been in effect since November 2009.  The two-way radio or cell 

phone must be turned on and adjusted in a manner that alerts the school bus driver 

of an incoming communication request. 

 

In order to pass inspection at an Illinois Official Testing Station, a school bus must 

be equipped with either a two-way radio, a cell phone or a letter, on 

company/district letterhead, that states the school bus will be equipped with a cell 

phone at all times when the school bus driver is in possession of the school bus.  

 

Other issues to address are as follows: 

 

SCHOOL BUSES EQUIPPED WITH ANTI-IDLING DEVICES  
 

Illinois law (at 625 ILCS 5/11-1429) requires a person who operates a diesel bus in 

an affected area (i.e., the counties of Cook, DuPage, Lake, Kane, McHenry, Will, 

Madison, St. Clair, and Monroe and the townships of Aux Sable and Goose Lake in 

Grundy County and the township of Oswego in Kendall County) to not cause or 

allow that bus, when it is not in motion, to idle for more than a total of 15 minutes  

within any 60 minute period.  However, the law exempts all vehicles that are idling 

while forced to remain motionless because of on-highway traffic, an official traffic 

control device or signal, or at the direction of a law enforcement official.  No 

school bus manufactured for use in Illinois can be equipped with an anti-idling  
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device that will cause or allow a school bus to shut down if the vehicle is 

stopped at a railroad grade crossing.   
 

MULTIFUNCTION SCHOOL ACTIVITY BUSES STOPPING AT 

RAILROAD GRADE CROSSINGS 

 

Illinois law (at 625 ILCS 5/11-1202) requires school buses to stop within 50 feet 

but not less than 15 feet from the nearest rail, and while so stopped, shall listen and 

look for the approach of a train or railroad track equipment and shall not proceed 

until such movement can be made with safety.  School bus drivers are also required 

to turn off all noise-producing accessories, including heater blowers, defroster fans, 

auxiliary fans and radios and open the service door and driver’s window before 

crossing a railroad track or tracks.  Due to the fact that a multifunction school 

activity bus is defined as a school bus manufactured for the purpose of transporting 

11 to 15 persons, including the driver..., the Department has interpreted Section  

11-1202 to require drivers of multifunction school activity buses to also stop at 

railroad grade crossings and follow the same procedures required to be followed 

when driving a school bus.  

 

GLOBAL POSITIONING SYSTEMS (GPS) ON SCHOOL BUSES 

 

The Department does not prohibit the use of GPSs in school buses.  They cannot be 

located on the windshield and must not obstruct any portion of the driver’s view, 

the service door or any emergency exit.   

 

REMINDER REGARDING HEATERS IN SCHOOL BUSES   
 

School bus heater(s) are required to maintain an interior temperature of not less 

than 50º Fahrenheit throughout the bus.  School buses will be rejected at Illinois 

Official Testing Stations if school bus heater(s) fail to maintain the correct interior 

temperature.  IDOT personnel also have the authority to place any school bus out of 

service if the bus’ heater(s) are not working between the dates of October 2 and 

April 14.  Please keep the safety and comfort of children in mind and maintain the 

proper interior temperature on all school buses owned or operated by your company 

or school district. 

 

If you have any questions, contact Dan Thompson at the Illinois Department of 

Transportation’s Division of Traffic Safety at 217/785-3046 or at 

dan.f.thompson@illinois.gov.  Please have a safe school bus transportation year! 

 

     Sincerely, 

          
     Michael R. Stout 

     Director 


