
JAN
1933 

Legal age for 
alcohol consumption
established at age 
21 for males and 
18 for females.

JAN
1946

Illinois safety 
responsibility law 

enacted.

JAN
1958 

BAC of 0.15 
established as the

level at which a driver
is presumed to be

under the influence 
of alcohol. 

JAN
1963

Illinois Traffic-Related Key Events

Legal minimum 
drinking age 

established at 21
years of age.

JAN
1967

Driving while 
intoxicated (DWI) law
changed to include
driving under the 

influence of drugs. 

JAN
1967 

Presumption of being
illegally under the 

influence of alcohol
lowered to 0.10.

JAN
1968 

Mandatory motorcycle
helmet usage law 

enacted for all riders.

MAY
1969 

Motorcycle helmet
usage law repealed.

OCT
1972

Implied consent 
law implemented.

JAN
1973

Legal minimum 
drinking age changed
to allow 19-year-olds
and 20-year-olds the

right to purchase 
and consume beer

and wine. 

FEB
1974

Maximum speed limit
reduced to 55 mph.

OCT
1977

Crash reporting
threshold increased 
to damage in excess

of $250 
(previously $100).

JAN
1980

Legal minimum drink-
ing age re-established
at 21 years of age for

all consumption, 
purchase, and 
possession of

alcoholic beverages.

JAN
1982 

New driving under 
the influence

(DUI)/implied consent
law established 

illegal at 0.10 and
toughened penalties.

JUL
1983 

Child Passenger 
Protection Act 

became effective and
required children

under the age of 4 to
be secured in a child
safety seat and 4 and

5-year-olds to be 
secured in a safety
seat or safety belt.

JUL
1985

Safety belt law 
enacted to require
safety belt use by

drivers and front seat
passengers. Violation

of the law is a 
primary offense.  

JAN
1986 

Color-coded driver’s
license established to
distinguish between

drivers under 21
years of age and 

drivers 21 and older.

JAN
1986

Statutory summary
suspension 

established to
strengthen 
DUI laws.

MAY
1987 

Speed limit on rural
interstates raised to

65 mph for first 
division vehicles and

second division 
vehicles carrying less

than 8,000 lbs.

JAN
1988

Safety belt law
amended to make
non-use of safety

belts by drivers and
front seat passengers
a secondary offense. 

JAN
1990

Mandatory insurance
law enacted to 

require minimum 
liability limits.

JAN
1992

Crash reporting
threshold increased 
to damage in excess

of $500 
(previously $250).

APR
1992

Commercial driver’s
license required if 

operating a Class A 
or Class B vehicle.

JAN
1995 

Zero Tolerance law
enacted for drivers

under the age of 21.

JAN
1995 

Minimum fine 
for speeding 

in construction, 
maintenance zones 

or school zones 
doubled (to $150).

AUG
1995

Penalties increased
for drivers who do not

stop when a school
bus has stopped 
to load or unload 

passengers. 

NOV
1995

Changes in federal
legislation allowed 

Illinois to raise speed
limits on certain 
interstate and 

freeway-type roads. 

JAN
1997

Results of blood or
urine tests of drivers

receiving medical
treatment in hospital

emergency rooms 
resulting from a crash

are reportable to 
police for the purpose
of determining alcohol
and/or drug content. 



JUL
1997

Lowered the illegal
BAC limit to 0.08 
(previously 0.10).

JAN
1998

School bus drivers
caught driving a

school bus with any
trace of alcohol in
their systems lose 

the school bus 
driver permit. 

JAN
1998 

Graduated Driver’s 
License established
for drivers less than

21 years of age.

JAN
1999

Use of ignition 
interlock devices 
established as a 

regular option for the
sanction of certain 

repeat DUI offenders. 

AUG
2001

Penalties increased
for repeat DUI 

offenders. Installation
of ignition interlock

devices became
mandatory in all 

vehicles owned by a
person committing a

second or subsequent
DUI offense.  

AUG
2001 

Additional penalties
imposed for persons
convicted of DUI with

a BAC of 0.16 or
higher or with a BAC
of 0.08 or higher and
a child under age 16

in the vehicle. 

JAN
2002 

Child Passenger 
Protection Act

amended to require
that children ages

4-15 be restrained in
a safety seat or by a

safety belt.  Fines
doubled for failure to
secure a child in a

safety seat.

JAN
2002 

“Scott’s Law” enacted,
requiring drivers 

approaching a stationary
authorized emergency

vehicle displaying
flashing warning lights

to yield the right-of-
way by making a lane
change or otherwise

reduce speed. 

JAN
2002

Minimum fine doubled
(to $300) for second

and subsequent
speed limit violations

in construction or
maintenance zones 

or school zones.

JAN
2003 

“Scott’s Law” 
extended to require

drivers entering 
a construction or

maintenance zone
where workers are
present to make a

lane or reduce speed
and proceed 
with caution. 

JAN
2003

Persons driving a 
bus for any school-
related activity must
have a valid school

bus permit. 

JUL
2003

Statewide Traffic 
Stop Statistical Study
established to collect

data to identify 
racial bias.

JUL
2003

Safety belt law
amended to provide

for mandatory 
(primary) 

enforcement.

JUL
2003 

Law amended to
allow for seizure 

and forfeiture of the
vehicle of a person

who drives without a
license and insurance

and causes death 
or injury to 

another person.

JAN
2004

Persons under age 18
with a Graduated Dri-
ver’s License may not
drive until the person
reaches age 18 with

more than one person
under age 20 in the
vehicle (siblings and
children excluded).

JUN
2004

Criminal Code
amended if a defen-

dant commits reckless
homicide in a con-

struction/maintenance
zone and kills a worker,
the defendant is guilty

of a Class 2 felony,
punishable by impris-
onment for 3-14 years.

AUG
2004

Automated Traffic
Control Systems in

Highway Construction/
Maintenance Zones

Act became effective,
speed limit enforce-
ment in construction/
maintenance zones
through the use of

photographs or other
recorded images.

AUG
2004

Fines and other
penalties for speeding

in a construction/
maintenance zone

increased. Second or
subsequent conviction

within two years of
the previous violation,
driver’s license is sus-
pended for 90 days.

JAN
2005

Penalties increased
for persons who leave
the scene of personal
injury crash.  A person

leaving the scene
must report the crash
at a police station or
sheriff’s office within
½ hour of the crash

(previously one hour).

JAN
2005

Offense of bribery 
to obtain driving 

privileges created,
with penalties. 

JAN
2005

Vehicle registration
application or renewal

must include the 
liability insurance 

policy number, 
expiration date, and

name of insurer. 

JAN
2005

Reckless driving and
aggravated reckless

driving offenses 
expanded to include
causing a vehicle to
become airborne by
using an incline in a

roadway. 

JUL
2005

Persons under age 
18 who have an 

instruction permit 
or Graduated Driver’s
License may not use 

a wireless phone
while driving except

for emergency 
purposes.

MAY
2006

Madison County, 
St. Clair County, Cook

County, the collar
counties, municipali-
ties within included,

may establish by ordi-
nance a photo 

enforcement system
for red light running 

at intersections. 

JUN
2006 

Graduated Driver’s 
License provisions
amended to require
50 (previously 25)

hours of behind-the-
wheel instruction,
with at least 10 of 
the hours at night.

JAN
2007

Automated Traffic
Control Systems in

Highway Construction
or Maintenance Zones

Act amended to 
require proof that

workers were present
when a citation

is issued.

JAN
2007
Automated 

enforcement cameras
allowed at rail grade
crossings to capture
photos of vehicles 
and drivers that 

drive around lowered
gates or stop on
railroad tracks. 

JUL
2007

Persons convicted 
of driving an unin-
sured vehicle, in 

addition to any other
penalty imposed

shall have the driving
privileges suspended
for 3 months and until
a $100 reinstatement

fee is paid. 



JUL
2007

Driver’s license 
cancellation for 

persons age 18 or
younger who fail to
attend school or are

habitually truant. 

AUG
2007

Illinois Liquor Control
Act amended to 

disallow parents/
guardians to 

knowingly permit 
the consumption of
alcohol by underage

invitees at their 
residence. 

JAN
2008

Persons under age 
21 who receive court

supervision for
transfer, possession,
or consumption of 
alcohol are subject

to a 3-month driver’s
license suspension. 

JAN
2008

Graduated Driver’s 
License provisions

strengthened. Person
must have learner’s
permit for at least 

9 months (previously
3 months) before 

GDL is issued. 

JAN
2008

The Secretary of State
may allow, without
fee, the parent or

guardian of a person
under age 18 who has
a Graduated Driver’s
License or instruction

permit to view the
person’s driving
record online.

JAN
2008

Child Passenger 
Protection Act

strengthened to 
require any driver

transporting a child 
to restrain the child 
in a child passenger

restraint system.

JAN
2008 

Penalties increased
for a driver involved in

a personal injury
crash who fails to

stop at or as close to
the scene as possible
or report to a nearby

police station or sher-
iff’s office as soon as

possible.

JUN
2008

Penalties increased
for reckless driving

with bodily harm to a
child or school cross-
ing guard performing

official duties. 

AUG
2008

Second violation 
of driving with a 

suspended or revoked
license guilty of a
Class 4 felony and

shall serve a 
minimum of 30 days

imprisonment or 
300 hours 

community service.

AUG
2008

A wine bottle that has
been opened but 

resealed for removal
and transportation
from a restaurant

must be transported
in the trunk of the 

vehicle or behind the
last upright seat of a
vehicle with no trunk.

JAN
2009

First-time DUI offend-
ers who wish to drive
during the statutory

summary suspension
period must have a

Breath Alcohol Ignition
Interlock Device 

installed on the vehi-
cle and a Monitoring

Device Driving Permit. 

JAN
2009

Crash reporting
threshold increased to
damage in excess of
$1,500 when all driv-
ers are insured. If any

driver is uninsured
and there is damage
over $500 to any one
person’s property, all
drivers must report. 

JAN
2009

“Scott’s Law”
amended to allow

suspension or revoca-
tion of a person’s

driving privileges for
failing to yield the

right-of-way or 
reduce speed for a

stationary authorized
emergency vehicle.

JAN
2009 

Criminal Code
amended to allow 
a judge or jury to 
infer that a defen-

dant’s act was reck-
less homicide and a
Class 2 felony if the

defendant also 
violated Scott’s Law.

JAN
2009

Persons who enter a
rail grade crossing

and obstruct passage
of other vehicles or
persons shall have

driving privileges sus-
pended, in addition to
$500 fine or 50 hours
community service. 

JAN
2009

School bus drivers
must open the service

door and driver’s 
window of the bus

before crossing 
railroad tracks.

JAN
2010

Using a device to
write, send, or read 

an electronic 
communication of any

kind is prohibited
while operating a

motor vehicle. 

JAN
2010 

Using a wireless
phone in a school

speed zone or 
construction or 

maintenance zone
is prohibited while
operating a motor 

vehicle.

JAN
2010

Law amended to
allow for seizure 

and forfeiture of the
vehicle driven by a
person while their

license is suspended
or revoked for

reckless homicide.  

JAN
2010

Maximum speed limit
for trucks raised to

65mph on interstates
outside of the 

counties of Cook, 
DuPage, Kane, Lake,
McHenry, and Will.

JAN
2010

Motor vehicles not
specifically designed
to be operated on a
public highway are

subject to mandatory
insurance provisions

when operated
on a street, road, 

or highway. 

JUL
2010

Motorists must stop
and yield the right-of-

way to pedestrians
lawfully in a cross-

walk when traffic sig-
nals are not in place
or not in operation 

JUL
2010

Driving a motor 
vehicle recklessly

close to, toward, or
near a bicyclist,

pedestrian, horseback
rider, or animal-drawn

vehicle is a class A
misdemeanor. 

JUL
2010

IDOT is required upon
request to furnish
copies of written
crash reports to 

federal, state, and
local agencies 

engaged in highway
safety research 

and studies. 

JAN
2011

Child Passenger 
Protection Act

amended to increase
fines to $75 for first
offense (previously
$50) and $200 for 
a second or subse-

quent offense 
(previously $100).

JAN
2011

Driving privileges shall
be immediately re-

voked of a person con-
victed of any offense
against the provisions
of the IVC or local ordi-
nance regulating the
movement of traffic
that resulted in the

death of another person.

JAN
2011

Eligibility for 
Restricted Driving

Permit (RDP) 
expanded to allow
transportation of 

elderly or disabled
persons needing

travel to/from 
daycare.

JAN
2011

Persons charged with
speeding 40 mph or
more over the limit
are not eligible for
court supervision. 



JAN
2011

Persons convicted of
reckless driving or

speeding 40 mph or
more over the limit

may be assessed up
to $100 for each
agency forced to 

initiate an emergency
response.

JUL
2011

Statutory Summary
Revocation created

(previously Secretary
of State 

administratively 
suspended driving

privileges as 
Statutory Summary

Suspension). 

JAN
2012 

Maximum speed 
limit for trucks raised

to 65 mph on all 
Illinois tollways, and

for all or part of high-
ways having at least
four lanes of traffic

except Cook, DuPage,
Kane, Lake, McHenry

and Will counties.

JAN
2012

In municipalities other
than Chicago, when the
light at an intersection
fails to turn green after
a reasonable period,

motorcycles and 
bicycles may proceed
on a red light following

the rules applicable 
at a stop sign.

JAN
2012

Law strengthened to
allow an employer,
upon reasonable 

suspicion, to test a
school bus driver 
permit holder for 
the presence of 
drugs, alcohol,
or intoxicating 
compounds. 

JAN
2012 

Safety belt law
amended to require

all motor vehicle 
occupants to wear
a safety belt unless

otherwise exempted
by law.  

JAN
2012

No person may ride in
a trailer, semitrailer,

farm wagon, or other
vehicle while it is
being towed on a

public roadway unless
the occupancy of the

towed vehicle is 
necessary to avoid
personal danger.

AUG
2013
Amend the 

Aggravated DUI 
section in the IVC,

making the offense 
of operating a school
bus for hire with one
or more passengers

an “Aggravated DUI.”

JUL
2013

Secretary of State to
issue certifications to
certain individuals to
serve as Motorcycle

Road Guards: allowing
these road guards to

stop and/or direct 
traffic in efforts of 
protecting large

groups of motorcycles.                                          

AUG
2013

Safety belt require-
ments do not apply
to vehicles of the fire
department, Office of

the Fire Marshal 
or ambulances.

JAN
2014

Amends the Graduated
Driver’s License Act,
citing it at “Kelsey’s
Law,” no GDL may 
be issued to any 

applicant under age
18 who has a traffic
citation for which a
disposition has not
yet been rendered.

JAN
2014

Amends the Code 
of Corrections by
prohibiting court 

supervision in cases
which a defendant’s
IVC charge or local 

ordinance violation is
determined to be the

cause of death. 

JAN
2014

Prohibits tracking 
devices to determine
the location or track
a person/entity but
does not apply to 
lawful usage by a
law enforcement

agency.

JAN
2014

Amends the 
Distracted Driving

prohibition in the IVC,
fines increased upon
violation; set at $75
for the first offense,
$100 for the second,
$125 for a third and
$150 for a fourth or
subsequent offense. 

JAN
2014

New offense for 
driving while using 

a video device, 
wireless telephone, 
or communication 
device. Violating 

this section results 
in a Class A 

misdemeanor.

JAN
2014

Separate offenses 
for construction or
maintenance zone
speed violations
whether or not

workers are present. 

JAN
2014
Automated 

Enforcement 
violations for passing/
overtaking a school
bus when loading/
unloading children.

JAN
2014

Raised penalties for
vehicle operation with

suspended license
from Class 3 felony to
Class 4 felony if the
accident results in

bodily harm. 

JAN
2014

Anyone convicted of
or pleading guilty to
DUI who had a blood
test performed after
refusal to a breath

test will reimburse the
cost for the adminis-
trations of that blood
test; even if the test

was non-consensual.

JAN
2014

Maximum speed 
limit to 70 mph 

outside the counties
of Cook, DuPage,

McHenry, Kane, Lake,
and Will on interstate
highways; 65 mph on
all IDOT designated

highways and 55 mph
for other roads.

JUN
2014

The Illinois Vehicle
Code was amended to
revise Section 11-212
extending the repeal

date of the Traffic
Stop Statistical Study
from 2015 to 2019. 

JUL
2014

Foreign commercial
drivers are subject to
disqualification under
the same conditions
as other commercial
motor vehicle drivers.
Illinois is now in con-

formance with the
Federal Motor Safety
Administration rules.

JUL
2014

Motor vehicles or
pedestrians are al-

lowed to enter an in-
tersection under the

direction of a flashing
yellow traffic-control
signal, but must yield

to pedestrians and
other vehicles already
within the intersection.

AUG
2014

The Monitoring Device
Driving Permit allows

first-time DUI offenders
that have injured only
themselves to operate

a motorized vehicle
provided they install 

a breath alcohol 
ignition installation 

device.

JAN
2015

Background checks
will be strengthened
for driver's education
course providers and

disclosure of that
information by an

employee of the Sec-
retary of State will be

a Class A misde-
meanor.  

JAN
2015

Special restricted li-
cense permit, allowing
persons using a vision
aid other than stan-
dard eyeglasses or

contact lenses, must
not have a driving

record that includes
any motor vehicle ac-
cident, where at fault. 

JAN
2015

The Secretary of 
State will be allowed
to cancel a special 

restricted license for
nighttime driving if

the license holder vio-
lates any provision 

of the Illinois 
Vehicle Code during

nighttime hours.

JAN
2015 

Highway Emergency
Lane Patrol vehicles

operating on the 
Illinois State Toll 

Highway Authority 
will be designated 

as emergency 
vehicles.



JAN
2015

Ticket quotas will 
be prohibited for

county, municipal, 
and state law 

enforcement officers.

JAN
2015

Individuals cited for
certain traffic viola-
tions deemed petty
offenses will not be

required to post bond
or bail and eliminates

the option to use a
driver’s license in lieu

of bond or bail.

JAN
2015

An "autocycle" will be
defined as a 3-wheel
motor vehicle that has
a steering wheel and
seating that does not
require the operator

to straddle or sit
astride it. 

JAN
2015

Amended speed 
limit 70 mph on all
highways under the
jurisdiction of the 
Illinois State Toll 

Highway Authority.

JAN
2015

Allows for the Secre-
tary of State to cancel
the license of a GDL
holder 18 or older if
the Secretary deter-
mines he/she was

charged with a viola-
tion of the Liquor

Control Act of 1934.

MAY
2015

Designates May 
as Motorcycle 

Awareness Month 
in the State of Illinois.

JUL
2015

Defined Gross 
Combination Weight

Rating (GCWR): 
stating the GCWR will
not be used to classify

a vehicle when the
vehicle is not towing

another unit. 

JAN
2016

Amended the Illinois
Repeat Offender by

removing the 30-day
hard suspension, 

allowing for a 
restricted driving 

permit immediately
following the 

beginning of their
suspension.

AUG
2015 

Allows for a regis-
tered motorcyclist to
equip his/her motor-
cycle with standard

bulb running lights or
light emitting diode

pods and/or strips as
auxiliary lighting to

protect the operator.

JAN
2016 

Designates December
23 of each year as
Scott’s Law Day, to
commemorate and
honor authorized

emergency personnel
along with the public

safety workers 
performing duties 

on Illinois highways.

JAN
2016

Amends the IVC
changing guidelines

for a driver’s 
eligibility to be 

issued a restricted 
driving permit. 

JAN
2016

Removes an order 
of supervision for a
driver convicted of
speeding in excess 
of 26 mph or more

over the posted
speed limit.

JAN
2016

Motor Carrier 
Penalties provides 

if a motor vehicle is
involved in an 

accident resulting in
great bodily harm,

permanent disability/
disfigurement such
driver is guilty of a

Class 3 felony.

JAN
2017

Any driver operating 
a vehicle requiring 

a school bus permit
shall carry a 

minimum $2M
liability

insurance policy.

JAN
2017

JAN
2017

Any driver approach-
ing a disabled vehicle

shall proceed with
due caution and move
to the lane not adja-
cent to the disabled

vehicle; or if changing
lanes isn’t possible,

slow to an appropriate
speed for conditions. 

JAN
2017 

Allows for motorcy-
cles to install a blue
light or lights on the

rear of the motorcycle
as part of the rear

stop lamps.

Allows for a contract
carrier to equip such
vehicle with a video

event recorder as long
as the carrier has

posted signage notify-
ing passengers their

conversations may be
recorded. 
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