Highway Construction Careers Training Program

backhoetraining4.jpgIn collaboration with the Federal Highway Administration, IDOT initiated the Highway Construction Careers Training Program (HCCTP) in late 2009, in an effort to increase access to highway construction jobs for minorities, women, and disadvantaged individuals. HCCTP emphasizes life-long learning and provides opportunities for further education and assistance to improve employability in Illinois’ highway construction industry. The program is administered by the Illinois Community College Board (ICCB) and implemented through twelve community colleges throughout the state.

Overview

Each community college holds one to five training sessions per year in which individuals receive intensive training in highway construction-related skills, such as mathematics for the trades, job site readiness, carpentry, concrete flatwork, blueprint reading orientation, introduction to tools, forklift operation, and OSHA 10 certification, etc.

Each community college provides its graduates with assistance in obtaining placement in Illinois’ highway construction trade unions, apprenticeship programs, and/or with IDOT highway construction contractors. IDOT, ICCB, and the participating community colleges do not guarantee employment upon a trainees’ graduation from HCCTP.

For more information regarding the Highway Construction Careers Training Program, click here.

Highway Construction Careers Training Program Update
 StartersCompletersPlacementsCurrent/Next Class Dates
City Colleges/Dawson Technical Institute17113887191/19/16 to 5/6/16
South Suburban College1479144 2/29/16 to 5/19/16
Rock Valley College13411711 2/22/16 to 5/20/16
Black Hawk College855713133/14/16 to 6/9/16
Kankakee Community College20912633912/7/15 to 3/11/16
Illinois Central College24717760301/5/16 to 3/24/16
Parkland College2021615414 3/1/16 to 6/3/16
Lincoln Land Community College247184544811/19/15 to 4/12/16
Lake Land College12310317  Transitioned to Richland
Richland Community College19106 61/4/16 to 3/31/16
Southwestern Illinois College (SWIC)*18713951 111/5/16 to 4/6/16
Lewis & Clark Community College15710025 152/1/16 to 5/12/16
John A. Logan College24218350 TBA
Total:21701586505187 

*This report does not reflect participants of the SWIC program prior to June 1, 2011.

Courses

Construction courses offered in various skills:

  • O.S.H.A. 10 Hour Safety
  • First Aid/CPR/AED
  • Aerial Lift
  • Fork Lift
  • Mobile Crane
  • Crane Signaling
  • Skid Steer

Enrollment

Please choose a participating community college below to obtain contact information on the program and learn more!

Dawson Technical of Kennedy King College - Chicago, IL  

Contact: Krys Stokes

(773) 386-6008

kstokes2@ccc.edu      

South Suburban College  

Rebecca Garcia

(708) 225-6042

RGarcia@ssc.edu      

Rock Valley College - Rockford, IL    

Contact: Scott Abbott

(815) 921-3912

s.abbott@rockvalleycollege.edu

Black Hawk College  

Contact: Paul Fessler

(309) 796-5729

fesslerp@bhc.edu

Kankakee Community College - Kankakee, IL    

Contact: John Willard

(815) 802-8205

jwillard@kcc.edu

Illinois Central College - Peoria, IL    

Contact: Monica Arbuckle

(309) 690-6912

Monica.arbuckle@icc.edu

Parkland College - Champaign, IL    

Contact: RJ Rowland

(217) 353-2122

rrowland@parkland.edu     

Lincoln Land Community College - Springfield, IL  

Tom Spears

(217) 786-3675

thomas.spears@llcc.edu

Richland Community College - Decatur, IL

Contact: Seth Brozio

(217) 875-7211 ext. 321

sbrozio@richland.edu     

Southwestern Illinois College - East St. Louis, IL  

Contact: Melissa Snelson

(618) 874-6528

melissa.snelson@swic.edu

Lewis & Clark Community College - Godfrey, IL  

Contact: Jeremy Elledge

(618) 468-4149

jelledge@lc.edu

John A. Logan College - Carterville, IL

Contact: Mark Etters

(618) 985-2828

mark.etters@jalc.edu

Contact Us

Ron Brown
Ronald.Brown@illinois.gov
(217) 785-4611
Office of Business & Workforce Diversity

Navigate back to Specialized Training Page