Share the Road

One of IDOT’s top priorities is Driving Zero Fatalities to a Reality in Illinois. Through safety education and outreach programs, IDOT provides the motoring public with the information necessary to make life-saving decisions when traveling on Illinois roadways. Illinois’ immense roadway system welcomes a variety of travelers. Our roadways feel the impact of motorcycles, bicycles, pedestrians, roadway workers, cars, trucks, semi-trucks, farm equipment, heavy equipment, and more.

It is our duty and yours, to make sure we share the road responsibly.

Trucks

Safe Motorists Always Respect Trucks (SMART) is an effort to reduce fatal crashes between trucks and other vehicles, a study was conducted by IDOT's Division of Traffic Safety, now the Division of Transportation Safety, to identify when most of these fatalities are occurring and under what circumstances. Below are the results of that study.

In Illinois, fatal crashes between trucks and other vehicles most often occur:

  • On Tuesday through Friday, between 11:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., when the weather is clear and the road is dry.
  • Due to speed or improper lane use.
  • When the truck driver is between 28-43 years old and the driver of the other vehicle is between 20-30 years old.
  • When the driver (of the truck OR the other vehicle) has fallen asleep or has been drinking.

Resources

Share the road with trucks (printable)

Motorcycles

Share the road with motorcyclists (printable)

Bicyclists

Bicycling, both recreationally and for daily commutes, is quite popular throughout Illinois.

Take the Bicycle Safety Quiz!

View the Secretary of State’s Rules of the Road

View the Illinois State Police’s Bicycle Safety Brochure

View Active Transportation Alliance’s summary of Illinois statutes regarding bicycles

Pedestrians

Pedestrian travel, such as walking or jogging, is a common option for many people across Illinois – from rural to urban communities.

Pedestrian Safety

Drivers and pedestrians both are responsible for traffic safety. Drivers should always be prepared to yield the right-of-way and should not drive unnecessarily close to pedestrians.

When approaching a pedestrian with a disability who is utilizing a guide dog, a white cane, a wheelchair or other assistive device on a sidewalk or roadway, the pedestrian has the right-of-way and is granted the same rights as any pedestrian.

A driver must come to a complete stop (and yield):

  • When a pedestrian is in a marked crosswalk.
  • On school days, when children are in close proximity to a school zone crosswalk.
  • A driver must yield to a pedestrian.
  • When a pedestrian is in an unmarked crosswalk on the driver's side of the roadway and there are no traffic control signals.
  • When making a turn at any intersection.
  • When making a lawful turn on a red light after coming to a complete stop.
  • After coming to a complete stop at a stop sign or flashing red signal at an intersection.
  • When a pedestrian enters a crosswalk before the traffic light changed.
  • When a pedestrian is walking with a green light, to a walking person symbol or a walk signal.
  • When a pedestrian is leaving or entering a street or highway from an alley, building, private road or driveway.
  • When a pedestrian is entering an intersection with a flashing yellow arrow.

For more information, please see the Rules of the Road.

 

Workers

Scott's Law, 625 ILCS 5/11-907(c), requires a motorist to slow down and change lanes if possible for emergency, construction and maintenance vehicles and workers. The law is named after a fire fighter who lost his life while responding to an accident on one of the expressways in the Chicago area.

A person charged with this offense can receive a fine for up to $10,000. They must appear in court, have driving privileges suspended, and in cases of property damage, injury and death of another person, additional penalties can apply such as involuntary manslaughter and reckless homicide. If someone kills a person while operating a vehicle they can be charged with involuntary manslaughter and reckless homicide which could result in imprisonment from 3 to 14 years if convicted.