ADA and Accessibility

×

View up to date information on Illinois’ Covid-19 vaccine plan and vaccination eligibility from the State of Illinois Coronavirus Response Site

Accessibility in the Public Right-of-Way

 

Providing accessible transportation in Illinois

Accessibility and IDOT

IDOT's ADA Transition Plan

IDOT’s Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Transition Plan serves as a guide to further IDOT’s vision, guiding principles, and goals of making Illinois transportation systems accessible to all.

IDOT ADA Design Standards

  • 424001 Perpendicular Curb Ramps
  • 424006 Diagonal Curb Ramps
  • 424011 Corner Parallel Curb Ramps
  • 424016 Mid-Block Curb Ramps
  • 424021 Depressed Corner
  • 424026 Entrance Alley Pedestrian Crossings
  • 424031 Median Pedestrian Crossings

Where a facility cannot be made fully compliant, the designer must complete a Maximum Extent Practicable (BDE Form 3101) discussing barriers to full compliance, and alternatives designs considered.

State Design Guidelines

Illinois Accessibility Code (IAC)

Federal Design Guidelines

 

ADA Policy Contact

ADA Policy

Stephen Letsky
2300 S. Dirksen Parkway, Room 300
Springfield, IL  62764-0001
Phone: 217-785-2148
E-mail: DOT.ADA.Complaint@illinois.gov

Local Roads ADA Coordinator

Tim Peters
2300 S. Dirksen Parkway, Room 206
Springfield, IL  62764-0001
E-mail: Tim.Peters@illinois.gov

District 1 ADA Coordinator(s)

Carlos Feliciano or Amruta Mate
201 West Center Court
Schaumburg, IL 60196-1096
E-mail: DOT.D1.ADA@Illinois.gov

District 2 ADA Coordinator

Michael Kuehn
819 Depot Avenue
Dixon, IL  61021-3546
E-mail: Michael.Kuehn@illinois.gov

District 3 ADA Coordinator

Scott Ferguson
700 East Norris Drive
Ottawa, IL 61350-0697
E-mail: Scott.Ferguson@illinois.gov

District 4 ADA Coordinator

Leo Crespo
401 Main Street, Suite 900
Peoria, IL  61602-1111
E-mail: Leonel.Crespo@illinois.gov

District 5 ADA Coordinator

Scott Neihart
13473 IL Hwy 133
P.O. Box 610
Paris, IL  61944-0610
E-mail: Scott.Neihart@illinois.gov

District 6 ADA Coordinator

Jonathan Kelley
126 East Ash Street
Springfield, IL 62704-4792
E-mail: Jonathan.Kelley@illinois.gov

District 7 ADA Coordinator

Neil Sandschafer
400 West Wabash
Effingham, IL  62401-2699
E-mail: Neil.Sandschafer@illinois.gov

District 8 ADA Coordinator

Herve Gelin
1102 Eastport Plaza Drive
Collinsville, IL  62234-6198
E-mail: Herve.Gelin@illinois.gov

District 9 ADA Coordinator

Carrie Nelsen
State Transportation Building
P.O. Box 100
Carbondale, IL  62903-0100
E-mail: Carrie.Nelsen@illinois.gov

Rest Area ADA Coordinator

Stephanie Dobbs
2300 S. Dirksen Parkway, Room 009
Springfield, IL  62764-0001
E-mail: Stephanie.Dobbs@illinois.gov

 

Accessibility Request

If you have concerns regarding sidewalks, curb ramps, crosswalks, pedestrian traffic signals
or other services within the public right-of-way, please fill out our ADA complaint form or
contact the appropriate ADA staff person above.