Highway Construction Careers Training Program

×

View up to date information on Illinois’ Covid-19 vaccine plan and vaccination eligibility from the State of Illinois Coronavirus Response Site

Highway Construction Careers Training Program

In collaboration with the Federal Highway Administration and community colleges statewide, IDOT’s Highway Construction Careers Training Program (HCCTP) provides training and skill improvement opportunities that assure the increased participation of minority groups, disadvantaged persons and women in all phases of the highway construction industry.

IDOT strongly encourages contractors and their approved sub-contractors to hire minority, women and disadvantaged individuals from the HCCTP to help meet workforce and trainee goals. Graduates are well-trained and ready to become productive entry-level construction workers, or even potential DBEs.

HCTTP Success Story

Tim Clark, Class of 2019

“IDOT’s HCCTP program offers participants opportunities that are overwhelmingly in their favor. Every day is a learning experience designed to make you a jack of all trades. I owe my occupation to this program, and to the coordinators and instructors who believed in me.”

Tim Clark, Glaziers District Council #58
Local #1168

Click here to read more about how Tim found success with IDOT’s HCCTP program.

HCCTP Overview

Each community college holds one to five training sessions per year. Individuals receive intensive training in highway construction-related skills, such as mathematics for the trades, job site readiness, carpentry, concrete flatwork, blueprint reading orientation, first aid/AED/CPR, introduction to tools, forklift operation, OSHA 10 certification, and more.

Each community college helps its graduates obtain placement in Illinois’ highway construction trade unions, apprenticeship programs, and/or with IDOT highway construction contractors. IDOT and the participating community colleges do not guarantee employment upon a trainees’ graduation from HCCTP.

HCCTP Enrollment

Contact the designated coordinator at a participating community college below to learn more about the program.

For general inquiries:
Bureau of Small Business Enterprises
Office of Business & Workforce Diversity
(217) 782-5490

Dawson Technical Institute of Kennedy King College - Chicago, IL  

Contact: Lisa Cockerham

(773) 487-3692

lcockerham2@ccc.edu     

Website

South Suburban College  

Contact: Rebecca Garcia

(708) 596-2000, ext. 3257

rgarcia@ssc.edu

Website

Rock Valley College - Rockford, IL    

Contact: Dawson Ingram

(815) 921-3912

d.ingram2@rockvalleycollege.edu

Website

Black Hawk College  

Contact: Paul Fessler

(309) 796-5729

fesslerp@bhc.edu

Website

Kankakee Community College - Kankakee, IL    

Contact: Alex Smith

(815) 802-8205

agsmith@kcc.edu

Website

Illinois Central College - Peoria, IL    

Contact: Susan Sherwood

(309) 690-6912

susan.sherwood@icc.edu

Website

Parkland College - Champaign, IL    

Contact: Elise Doody-Jones

(217) 353-2122

hdoody@parkland.edu

Website    

Lincoln Land Community College - Springfield, IL  

Tom Spears

(217) 786-3675

thomas.spears@llcc.edu

Website

Southwestern Illinois College - East St. Louis, IL  

Contact: Melissa Snelson

(618) 874-6528

melissa.snelson@swic.edu

Website

John A. Logan College - Carterville, IL

Contact: Mark Wece

(618) 985-2828, ext. 8643

mark.wece@jalc.edu

Website

Navigate back to Specialized Training Page